Seeking Compensation After an Accident
Despite Virginia requiring all registered motor vehicle owners to carry vehicle liability insurance, some motorists choose to unlawfully drive without coverage. When an uninsured motorist causes an accident, injured victims are left to wonder who will pay for their medical expenses and the costs to repair their vehicle.
If you were hit by an uninsured driver, contact the Virginia personal injury lawyers at Coletrane & Messersmith. Our legal team will work hard to hold the negligent driver accountable for your injuries and related losses. Contact us today at (757) 223-4455 to arrange a FREE, no-obligation consultation with an experienced personal injury attorney in Virginia.
Virginia’s Insurance Laws
In the state of Virginia, it is illegal for anyone to operate a motor vehicle without active vehicle liability insurance. To protect themselves and others, drivers must have the minimum amount of coverage required by law:
Bodily Injury Coverage - $30,000 per individual and $60,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Coverage - $30,000 per individual and $60,000 per accident
Property Damage Coverage - $20,000 per accident
What to Do If An Uninsured Driver hit you
If you have been involved in a car accident on a Virginia roadway, there are steps you can take to ensure your safety and protect your right to compensation.
Get to Safety - If you can, get yourself and your vehicle out of harm’s way by moving to the side of the road and out of the path of oncoming traffic.
Call 911 - Call the police right away. If anyone is injured, let the dispatcher know so they can send emergency personnel to tend to injured victims.
Tell the Officer What Happened - When the officer arrives, be sure to give a detailed and accurate account of what took place. Also, include any statements made by other drivers and any eyewitnesses.
Exchange Contact and Insurance Information - All drivers should exchange insurance information after an auto accident. If one of the other drivers does not have insurance, you should notify the police as soon as they arrive.
Seek Medical Attention - Many injuries present themselves or worsen over time. So, even if you feel okay, go to a doctor or emergency room for a thorough medical evaluation. This will ensure all of your injuries are identified and treated properly.
Speak with a Virginia Personal Injury Lawyer - To learn your rights following a car accident with an uninsured driver, consult with a personal injury attorney right away. They will explain what you can do to be compensated for your losses.
Compensation in a Virginia Car Accident Case
If your accident was caused by a negligent uninsured driver, you will need to contact your own insurance company. Let them know the other party did not have insurance but that you do have losses associated with the crash. If you have at least the minimum uninsured driver requirement, your insurance company will cover up to that amount.
Unfortunately, insurance companies typically try to undervalue any payouts, so even your own insurance company may try to give you less than what you deserve. To ensure you get the compensation you deserve, be sure to work with an accident attorney.
Speak with a Leading Personal Injury Lawyer in Virginia
Being injured by a negligent driver is upsetting. But when the driver who hit you is uninsured, it becomes even more frustrating. If you were hit by an uninsured motorist and left struggling to deal with mounting medical bills and lost income, remember you do have options.
The Virginia personal injury attorneys at Coletrane & Messersmith are here to help you get the compensation you need. Our legal team realizes the extreme financial burden that comes with being injured in a serious car crash. That is why we advocate strongly on your behalf and stand up to insurance companies that aren’t willing to pay their fair share. Contact us online or call (757) 223-4455 to arrange a FREE consultation with a top personal injury lawyer in Virginia.